Intersection of Orthogonal Subspaces

Messaggioda CormJack » 10/06/2023, 22:02

Hello. I am a British economics student, advised to come here by a friend. She said this is a very helpful and engaged forum, but she recommended i emphasise that i am an economics student, so that people know to be patient with my maths hahah! Thanks in advance!

1) Martin Anthony Linear Algebra p.g. 371, notes that $R(A) \cap N(A^T) = \{0\}$ where $R =$ Range and $N =$ Null space (kernel).

- I believe this is because $N(A^T) = RS(A^T)^\bot = R(A)^\bot$ and the intersection of two orthogonal compliments is the zero vector.
- Question: Would we also have $R(A^T) \cap N(A) = \{0\}$?
- Question: I'm struggling with both the geometric intuition that these subspaces can only share the zero vector? I'm also struggling with the Linear Algebra Intuition, what is it about the Null Space and the Range that implies this property.

2) Question: can we have two subspaces be orthogonal and their intersection be vectors other than the zero vector?
- I.e. is there is a difference between subspaces which are orthogonal compliments and orthogonal subspaces?
- My Answer: I assume that there is no difference and that for two subspaces $A$ & $B$ to be orthogonal, every element in $A$ must be orthogonal to every element in $B$. In which case if they contained the same vectors, not equal to zero, the vector is not orthogonal to itself.

3) Visual Confusion: What if i had two perpendicular planes in $\mathbb{R^4}$, i.e. Like two pieces of paper, but living in $\mathbb{R^4}$ (or even in $\mathbb{R^3}$). If i had them 90 degrees to one another, so colloquially they look orthogonal, forming a cross. These would intersect in a line. And so their intersection is a line i.e. not the zero vector? So they are not orthogonal compliments? So our visual analogy fails us here?

4) Question: What if we had a 4x4 Matrix $A$, And what if the $Dim(R(A)) = 2$, therefore $Dim(RS(A)) = 2$